PDA

View Full Version : Focal Lengths with movements for Tachihara 4x5

mshannon
23-Apr-2021, 15:18
Good evening. I am new to large format photography and recently bought a Tachihara 4x5 field camera. I would appreciate the help on what range of focal lengths will work with this camera to help me narrow my search for my first lens or two.

I am a newer member and unable to access the buy/sell section of the forum but would greatly enjoy any feedback that is willing to be given.

Thank you in advance.

Matt

Jim Noel
23-Apr-2021, 15:27
Look for lenses in good shutters in the 150mm-210mm range. If you want a wider view go to 90mm.

Dan Fromm
23-Apr-2021, 16:20
Hmm. Pick the focal length you want and then look for a lens with that focal length and enough coverage. In post #2 above, Jim Noel suggested some focal lengths that are commonly used on 4x5. Thing is, not all lenses with those focal lengths will cover 4x5.

Mark Sampson
23-Apr-2021, 16:59
I had a 4x5 Tachihara for ten years. I successfully used 90mm lenses (wide angle) and a 300/9 Nikkor-M (long). Mr. Noel's advice above is good.

Mark Sawyer
23-Apr-2021, 18:21
If you go with a bag bellows and/or recessed lensboard, you can use an even shorter focal length with movements. If you use a telephoto lens, you can use a longer lens than the standard bellows will allow. But I agree with Dan, let your vision decide your focal lengths.

Ari
23-Apr-2021, 19:23
There are lenses that range from 47mm up to 300mm, 600mm and beyond that cover 4x5.
Some of those lenses will offer more movements on 4x5 because they make a larger image circle when light goes through them.
What Jim said is good advice. Start simple, with a normal, long or wide lens.
This page is for 4x5 lenses: https://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/LF4x5in.html

Huub
24-Apr-2021, 01:41