7-Jan-2021, 05:50
What are the differences?

I have never seen or used these papers

I see there was single and double weight

Is it FB or...plastic

Age and history of use

Jim Noel
7-Jan-2021, 08:18
Both are fiber papers. F-2 is Glossy and G-2 is textured (I don't remember the correct term).
I used F-2 for 20+ years, and only went to G-2 after my college years. When I worked in a store in high school during WWII I would say these papers outsold all others combined by a large margin.

Tin Can
7-Jan-2021, 08:28
Thanks Jim!

Got some of each coming this week

Both are fiber papers. F-2 is Glossy and G-2 is textured (I don't remember the correct term).
I used F-2 for 20+ years, and only went to G-2 after my college years. When I worked in a store in high school during WWII I would say these papers outsold all others combined by a large margin.

Ulophot
7-Jan-2021, 08:37
G was what Kodak called a lustre surface, a bit shinier and more prominently textured than the E surface, as I recall.

Merg Ross
8-Jan-2021, 23:10
As noted, letter is for surface, number is for grade. Kodabromide was available in grades 2 to 5. I used the DW for my commercial work in the 60's to 80's due to availability. Works well in Dektol, a bit on the cool side for my taste. Preferred GAF or Ilford for personal work. Have fun, maybe a little benzotriazole will be needed. Await your report back.

Bill Burk
9-Jan-2021, 00:13

Here are pages of a paper sample book. F is glossy, like all the other glossy paper you know. It doesn’t shine like that unless you ferrotype it.

Tin Can
9-Jan-2021, 06:16
Thanks experts!

Mark Sampson
9-Jan-2021, 07:56
They are fiber-based papers. The plastic version was Kodabrome II RC. Of course Kodak stopped all production of b/w paper in 2005 or so, and Kodabromide was discontinued well before that, so your purchase is something of a gamble. But you knew that- best of luck!

Wayne
9-Jan-2021, 08:31