PDA

View Full Version : Schneider Xenotar 150mm f2.8 lens problem

ColonelKurtz
18-Dec-2020, 13:56
Hello All,
Was hoping someone could inform me. When my Xenotar 150mm lens is set to the "T" position, I am not able to cock the lens. The cocking lever remains immovable, and was wondering what the problem might be? I have never tried to use the Timer setting before, so maybe I'm not doing something, or maybe the timer function is actually broken... wondering. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Bob Salomon
18-Dec-2020, 13:57
Self timer is V. Are you talking about the shutter speed T?

ColonelKurtz
18-Dec-2020, 14:02
Ah yes, shutter speed "T" then. I only ever use this lens at around 200th of a second because I'm shooting portraits at f2.8 with iso 400 film, so that puts my shutter speed way up there. What is the shutter speed "T" ?

Greg
18-Dec-2020, 14:15
T = "time"
B= "bulb" (I believe)
When set on T, Press the shutter release to open up the shutter, press it again to close the shutter. I'm totally guessing but if the shutter is open, you have to press the shutter one more time to close it, then you can change shutter speeds.
What is the make of the shutter?

ColonelKurtz
18-Dec-2020, 14:25

Its a Compur shutter. When it is in T, I can open the shutter with a cable release, but to close it, I have to manually slide the shutter ring to B and beyond, which doesn't make sense to me, because I'm moving the lens in order to close the shutter. What am I missing, here? Thanks!

paulbarden
18-Dec-2020, 15:02
I don't know about this specific shutter, but many of the early Compur shutters with a T setting were designed so that you DO NOT cock the shutter to use either B or T. If you force the shutter when in the B or T setting, you will break something. If you cannot close the T setting once open, then the shutter has already been damaged or at the very least it needs servicing.

Myriophyllum
18-Dec-2020, 15:09