PDA

View Full Version : Removing sheet film from rotary tubes question

Dan6077
5-Nov-2020, 13:21
Hello all
I am new to processing my sheet films in tubes
In attempting to remove the negatives from the tubes, once processing is complete, I have scratched the emulsion and pretty well ruined the sheet.
This has happened to two out of the ten sheets I have processed.
This rate is way to high
There scratches are not from the tubes, rather they result from me trying to grasp and edge to pry away from the wall.

I am asking this site if anyone has a technique that might help in me retrieving the sheets from the tubes undamaged

Thanks to all who reply
Dan

cowanw
5-Nov-2020, 13:40
Hello from Hamilton. Are the tubes filled with water? If not do so and then lift a corner and they will come out easy peasy.

Jim Noel
5-Nov-2020, 13:40
have you tried filling the tube with water, then reaching to the bottom edge of the film and moving it up so the top edge can be grasped?

Alan9940
5-Nov-2020, 14:21
What they said above regarding the water. Then, use a fingernail to gently pry one corner out and the sheet should slide out easily.

jim_jm
5-Nov-2020, 15:36
I process 4x5 film in BTZS tubes, and 5x7 and 8x10 in home-made tubes. I've found that by lifting the corner of the sheet with a fingernail, I can easily grasp it with my fingertips. Sometimes the sheet tends to want to stick to the inner wall of the tube, but curling it a bit more usually breaks it free.

Rick Olson
5-Nov-2020, 16:23