PDA

View Full Version : Disastrous Consequences (solved: fog with Intrepid lensboard)

brianentz
6-Oct-2020, 17:09
So, I'm new to LF and I just got my Intrepid 4x5 and an assortment of lenses including my main lens - Nikon 90mm. Went backpacking. Processed the film and found that everything shot with that lens came out horribly wrong. I guess it needs to be serviced or replaced. Ever seen anything like this? I made a couple exposures with my Rodenstock 150 and that came out beautifully. Any idea what could be wrong?

Jim Noel
6-Oct-2020, 17:33
EIther your Nikon 90 mm is not a wide angle lens,or you are missing an element. I suspect it is not a WA. Does the ID on the lens indicat WA?

PRJ
6-Oct-2020, 17:40
What is your lensboard made out of?

Bruce Watson
6-Oct-2020, 18:02
Any idea what could be wrong?

No, not really. Sorry.

OTOH, you got your first lesson in LF -- the ground glass does not lie. It took me a lot longer than my first trip to fully, viscerally, understand that. Once I latched hold of that concept I wasted a whole lot less film, and my "winners" became a much higher percentage of my shots.

You done good. Stuff like this is how we learn.

Dan Fromm
6-Oct-2020, 18:09
Which filter did you put on it? I ask because there's not too bad image in the corners.

A picture of the lens on its board would be helpful. Side views, so we can read the ID etc. on the front of the barrel.

BrianShaw
6-Oct-2020, 18:13
Did it look like that on the ground glass?

Kiwi7475
6-Oct-2020, 18:52
They look just like pictures taken with my Holga!

/s

If it’s not the lens it does look like some light leak... almost like the lens board is not totally light proof...?

Jody_S
6-Oct-2020, 19:14