PDA

View Full Version : Fujinion W f5.6 210mm fuzzy at wide open

pound
9-Sep-2020, 01:47
hi guys

I have 2 of these Fujinion W f5.6 210mm. The first one I have been using it for a few years and it focused sharp at infinity at f5.6 on the camera ground glass.
However for the 2nd lens (bought a while back but seldom use it), at f5.6, the image will look fuzzy and will only focused sharp at infinity at f16 or smaller. I swapped the lens elements around the 2 lens and narrowed it down to the 2nd lens front element causing the issue.

Anyone know what is the cause and how can it be fixed?

Thank you!

Havoc
9-Sep-2020, 02:11
A missing shim would be my guess.

ic-racer
9-Sep-2020, 07:45
Lens re-assembled wrong? Sometimes the lens elements don't contact the base of the groove if you don't press them in hard enough. The locking ring will still screw in place over the element and the lens can look like it is re-assembled correctly.

pound
10-Sep-2020, 21:20
thank you all.
I opened the front element and there is a shim. my other lens has a bent filter thread so I could not open to do a comparison.
Otherwise I made sure all the lens elements are sitting correctly. Seems to have nio improvements.

Bernice Loui
11-Sep-2020, 09:45
Sounding like this Fujinon lens is a dud. Time to move it on.
As for shims, they are set and selected during production of a specific lens with the shim thickness specific to each lens.

Example of why web page crowing about the magnificence of any given lens is dependent on the specific individual lens. In most cases, a modern lens is good as purchased, other time they are horrid. This is why testing of a specific individual lens for meeting image making goals is SO important.

Bernice

Doremus Scudder
11-Sep-2020, 10:58