PDA

View Full Version : Fresnel

Carrotious
24-Aug-2020, 06:43
Hi there everyone,

I was thinking of getting a Fresnel lens for my Linhof Kardan Bi.
However there is a lot of choices and a lot of price variation...
Anybody have advice?

This is my first time....

Giles

Bob Salomon
24-Aug-2020, 07:14
Use the current LInhof gg and fresnel. You will not be disappointed.

Carrotious
25-Aug-2020, 01:44
Ok thanks Bob,
So for you the 115 GBP original is worth the money compared to a 35GBP eBay version from Hongkong?
The difference merits the investment?

https://www.linhofstudio.com/products/Linhof-Ground-Glass-and-Fresnels/Linhof_Fresnel_Screen_45
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ultra-Super-Bright-Fresnel-Screen-For-4x5-Linhof-Intrepid-Deardorff-Toyo-Camera/254454966046?epid=2115454764&hash=item3b3eb2a71e:g:zyIAAOSw8Kxd7s42

Thanks

Giles

Bob Salomon
25-Aug-2020, 04:46
Ok thanks Bob,
So for you the 115 GBP original is worth the money compared to a 35GBP eBay version from Hongkong?
The difference merits the investment?

https://www.linhofstudio.com/products/Linhof-Ground-Glass-and-Fresnels/Linhof_Fresnel_Screen_45
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ultra-Super-Bright-Fresnel-Screen-For-4x5-Linhof-Intrepid-Deardorff-Toyo-Camera/254454966046?epid=2115454764&hash=item3b3eb2a71e:g:zyIAAOSw8Kxd7s42

Thanks

Giles

Yes. But if you have an old gg it won’t be as dramatic as with the current gg.

Carrotious
25-Aug-2020, 08:53
I see.
I have an old GG I would imagine.
Maybe the best plan is to go for a Hong Kong Fresnel as a first step, then I know I can upgrade to a new ground glass and Fresnel from Linhof as a next step.
Giles

Carrotious
6-Sep-2020, 12:42
so i received an "Ultra Super Bright Fresnel Screen" from china for around 50 bucks.

Is a vast improvement...

Bob Salomon
6-Sep-2020, 15:00
so i received an "Ultra Super Bright Fresnel Screen" from china for around 50 bucks.

Is a vast improvement...