PDA

View Full Version : If I had to make a choice

Paul Cocklin
6-Jan-2006, 21:36
I'm relatively new to LF, and it's almost time to take the next step. I think I've convinced my live-in girlfriend to let me turn our bathroom into a sometimes darkroom. But I think I may have a dilemma; Do I need to choose between using it to develop film or using it to make prints?

I'm a complete novice when it comes to the darkroom, so I don't know the generally accepted sizes of working darkrooms (though from what I've researched they're a lot bigger than my bathroom). I can mount an enlarger on a rolling stand and make it somewhat portable so I can store it in a closet. It seems to me that an area for film developing would be smaller than an area for printing; my problem is the sink is not very big (or deep). Can I get away with doing both developing or printing, or should I just stick with one or the other; and if so, which one would I go with? I'm more comfortable with letting a pro like CaliColor or Cox B+W labs develop the film (they're both close to me), seeing as how if I screw the film up then I can't print anything from it.

It all seems a bit daunting to me, though I'm sure that's the case with every beginner. Assuming I go with printing only, what is the layout I would need? Trays for developer, fixer, stop bath and wash, right? Plus the area for the enlarger itself.

Please forgive me if all this seems so trivial and naive; I've got no formal training in photography but have shot 35mm and mf for about 10 years. Can you believe I've never been in a darkroom?!?

Any and all advice or suggestions will be most welcome. I get a lot of information (and inspiration) from this site, and I'd like to thank all of you for providing the best place to learn about LF.

Good light,
Paul

John Kasaian
6-Jan-2006, 21:48