PDA

View Full Version : economical 4x5 petzval portraits

Victor Samou Wong
5-Jan-2006, 11:27
well I was browsing around in the "rainy day" thread when I stumbled on the link to Jim Galli's website. I really love his pictures with the petzval portrait lens on 4x5. But now I have a problem, I have the bug but I'm a student and it's after Christmas. Can anybody recommend a good petzval for 4x5 that performs alright, but isn't as crazily priced as say a cooke, or the other lenses? Are there any relatively overlooked petzvals?

Cheers

brook
5-Jan-2006, 11:38
Its a trial and error kind of thing. Look for old brass lenses that the sellers are clueless about. If it has a focusing gear chances are its a petzval. Many wont have much info on them, and the magic lantern lenses wont have an aperature or a slot for water house stops. I have one I picked up with only the barrel and the air spaced doublet element, the single element had a FL of about 24", I taped a cemented doublet from a Rapid Rectilliner of about the same FL on the front of the barrel , sharp center, swirly fall off.
Count on it taking some time and getting a few duds along the way, or be prepared to drop the dime.

Jim Galli
5-Jan-2006, 12:04
Another entry level possible is to get an old rapid rectilinear (spelled cheap) about 6 or 7" focal length and replace the front group with a +3 close up lens. Won't be quite the same, but fun to play around with.

Here's (http://tonopahpictures.0catch.com/4InchGundlachPetzval4X5Pics.html) the pics Vic referenced.

brook
5-Jan-2006, 12:23
And if you follow Jims advice you wont go through the anguish of having Jim snipe the prize you thought was yours, and end up just buying one from him : ) The things we go through to get a curved field....

David A. Goldfarb
5-Jan-2006, 12:37
There are lots of cheap Petzval types out there. Projector lenses are sometimes Petzvals. You might try borrowing one from a slide projector and seeing what it covers at portrait distances.