PDA

View Full Version : Leaf 45 scanner

manuel johson
4-Jan-2006, 00:50
I have been thinking about purchasing the Microtek Artixscan 1800. It would be used to scan 4x5 positives. I was reading your forum and Mr Dolde seems to be using a Leaf45 with great success. I would be most appreciative if the forum elaborates in both directions. The pros and cons and any other suggestions the you may have. Maybe this two scanners can not even be compared to each other. I am new to 4x5 and I am experiencing a steep learning curve. I am running a dual processor Power Mac 10.3.9 which is quite new but I am afraid may not support the Leaf45. Thank you.

Antonio Corcuera
4-Jan-2006, 01:24
The Leaf 45 scans at 1200 dpi max for 4x5", which may or may not be enough for you.
This will let you output at around 4x, which you will also be able to do with the 1800f. Don't think you'll see any differences at this level of enlargment. The Leaf is an old dedicated film scanner which most probably doesn't run on OSX and is reported to be very slow too. It might be interesting if you need to scan 35mm and MF too (over 5000 and 2500 dpi respectively), but otherwise I'd go for the Microtek. There are many posts in this forum regarding the qualities and defects of the 1800f.

Frank Petronio
4-Jan-2006, 05:55
I used to have a Leaf 45 and I think the modern under $1000 flatbeds are as good as the older Leafs.

Henry Ambrose
4-Jan-2006, 06:54
I concur with what has been written above. I sold my LeafScan45 after finding that the Epson 1680 and 4870 that I owned at that same time gave better results. My current Epson 4990 is even better. The Leaf was sharper but its lower resolution on 4x5 film would not match the prints made by the Epsons. For 6x6 and 6x7 the LeafScan was superior to the 1680 and 4870, but not that much.

Kirk Gittings
4-Jan-2006, 11:56
Tell us about your final product? prints? How big etc.

manuel johson
4-Jan-2006, 22:56