PDA

View Full Version : 210mm or 240mm for Portraits?

JRivito
2-Jul-2020, 07:50
Hi Everyone,

Thanks for adding me to your group. I'm new to LF and am wondering about which lens is best for me and my style of shooting. I have a Calumet 4x5 with a 16" (400mm) bellows and a 150 Schneider 4.5 Xenar lens, but I'm looking to add a longer lens for portraits.

I'm considering either a 210mm or a 240mm (I'm assuming 300mm will require more bellows than I have). First of all, can I assume that I have enough bellows length for close ups with either the 210 or 240?

Secondly, for a newcomer to LF, would you recommend that I use a 210 or 240 for portraits? Currently, I'm looking at a 210mm/5.6 Schneider APO Symmar MC in a Copal 1 shutter or a 240mm f/9 Rodenstock Apo-Ronar Lens in Copal 1 Shutter.

I'm just now starting to dig into the wealth of information that this group has generously shared and it's a little overwhelming.

Can a few of you veterans give me some guidance on the 210 vs. 240 choice?

Thanks for sharing your experience.

John

jp
2-Jul-2020, 09:28
Either would be fine.

I'd try to find an older lens with a shutter with more aperture blades for a rounder aperture.. Thin depth of field will mean the background will be out of focus and you want that that look good too.. The copal-1 isn't bad, but you can do better with a Kodak Ektar Professional, or a Fuji 210/4.5 or 240 in Shannel or Copal-3 shutter. You don't need a super sharp top of the line glass to do nice portraits.

Exploring Large Format
2-Jul-2020, 09:44
Either would be fine.