PDA

View Full Version : Development problem

Julio Barros
1-Jan-2006, 10:50
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to large format and brand new to 8x10. I've had a 4x5 for a little less than a year and recently got an 8x10. I was testing it out trying to figure out how everything worked and I took the picture below. The proportion is strange because I scanned it using my 4870 just for this post. As you see it has a problem right in the middle of the negative. Does anybody have an idea on what may have gone wrong? Is it a light leak? Why is it in the middle and not along the edges? The film is Arista.edu ultra developed in D76 1:1 for about 10 minutes using an 8x10 unicolor drum and roller.

Thanks in advance.

Julio

http://blick.dangbit.com/devprob.jpg

Eric Brody
1-Jan-2006, 11:37
I use 4x5, not 8x10, but a few questions arise. I assume the defect is really on the negative, not in the scanner, eg you can see a dark area on the film itself. Assuming this to be the case, I'd first check the bellows. The traditional way to do this is to take the camera into a darkroom, remove the back of the camera, cover the back of the camera with a darkcloth, turn off the lights, place a small flashlight inside the camera and look to see if you have a "starry night" bellows. Pinholes in a bellows can cause this type of defect.

Flare from a light source could also do it. Your scene looks like there was strong light coming from the right. You might set up a scene with similar lighting and check if you can see any lens flare on the ground glass, and if so check if a lens shade helps.

It is hard to see how a developing problem could have caused this unless some developer splashed onto the film prior to development, but this seems unlikely. A problem with a film holder should have produced a problem along the edge.

Unless someone else has a better answer, and they may, my money's on a bellows defect or lens flare. I'd appreciate hearing how it turns out.

Good luck.

Julio Barros