PDA

View Full Version : Very basic shutter/lens questions

David F
28-Dec-2005, 19:51
I'm completely new to view camera operations, as I came "of age" photographically using digital. I recently bought a 4x5 camera to try out, using Polaroid back and film (since I don't have a darkroom).

I just pulled out my 150mm lens, mounted on a Copal No. 0 shutter. I believe I understand the basics of operating the aperture and shutter speed levers, and the preview lever, and shutter release, and how to mouting the lens on the camera, but . . .

1) to the left of the 1 second mark on the shutter speed dial (I think that's what the 1 is for?) are the letters B and T. What are these for and how do I work with them? (I assume they are for shutter speeds of longer than 1 sec, but that's just an assumption.)

2) Right next to where you screw in the shutter release cable is a switch with the letters X (in red) and M (in yellow). What are these? and how do I work with them?

3) Finally, my camera came with two shutter release cables: one just has the button/plunger on the end, and the other has a tiny screw next to the end that you push. I think its for keeping the shutter open during really long exposures (so you don't have to keep it plunged manually), but again this is just an assumption.

Any help with these questions or other starting advice is helpful. I have looked in a couple of view camera books and extensive searches on the web, but there's not a lot about these basic operations, even in the "how to" lists. I did some basic shutter info. on this web site which got me started, but didn't get to the above questions.

Thanks,
David Freed
Whidbey Island, WA

David F
28-Dec-2005, 19:56
Okay, I just learned that B and T stand for Bulb and Time, but still not sure how to use them. david.

John_4185
28-Dec-2005, 20:02
You cruised by the answer on your way here. :)

Go to: www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses-primer/ (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses-primer/)