PDA

View Full Version : Resolution Comparison Between Films?

ClickCL
12-May-2020, 12:24
Hi, I'm curious if anyone has a resource or personal opinion on the resolution differences between films? I have very little experience with LF but have a decent amount of experience shooting other formats up to LF.

I have noticed that generally E-6 films seem to have an edge over C-41 films, but with that said, there are so many variables it's hard to confirm if what I am seeing is reality. I would be very interested to see a side by side test done or hear some of your experiences. Also, where do you think silver gelatin stands against the two. Obviously we would be comparing like film speeds and more specifically the fine grain, slower films.

I have a project I'm preparing for and I'm trying to determine which film I want to work with. I can only imagine, if film resolution is noticeable on my smaller formats, then on the scale of an 8x10 it would make a significant difference, no? Thank you in advanced for your help.

EDIT: I realize now, I should have posted this in the Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing category. If there is a way to move or delete this thread, that would be great. Thanks

No problem, thread moved. --Oren

interneg
12-May-2020, 13:34
C-41 films outperform E-6 on the metrics that matter - sharpness, latitude, granularity etc - and if your display medium is anything other than the original transparency, these factors matter very strongly indeed.

ClickCL
12-May-2020, 14:25
Interesting! I was well aware that C-41 has a greater latitude but I did not expect granularity or sharpness to be a strength over e-6. At the very least, if they are comparable, then there is little use in choosing one over the other based on the merits or "resolution".

My display medium will be a transparency, however I was still considering the use of a c-41 film. Thank you for your reply; I appreciate it.

Drew Wiley
12-May-2020, 16:42