PDA

View Full Version : My mind is blown by recessed board difficulties, any suggestions?

LanndonKane
27-Apr-2020, 09:22
Hi all!

I am new to 4x5 photography - after a ton of research and dead ends, I thought I might ask the opinion of the large format brainiacs on this site:

I just purchased an Intrepid MK4 4x5, and I am having a LOT of difficulty selecting a lens. I am gravitating towards a 75mm lens, but the problem seems to be finding a suitable recessed lens board that will work with the lens combination.

Intrepid says that the 75mm must be used with a recessed board. A few other people around the internet said they were *just* able to get away with a flat board on this camera, but that was for an older version, so I’d rather play it safe and use a recessed board (if anyone has experience using a flat board with the MK4 at 75mm, I’d love to hear your opinion!)

This brings me to the crux of my problem: from what I’ve researched, it’s not just about finding a recessed board that will fit the 99x96mm style that the intrepid requires - apparently, many recessed boards don’t work properly with 75mm lenses (not being able to cock the shutter, difficulty with cables, a slew of things that I don’t fully understand yet).

The lens I had my eye on was the Nikkor 75mm SW, but I have not been able to find one packaged with a recessed board and confirm the size of that board, or find a separate board that I know will work with properly with this lens.

However, the below lens just popped up on eBay, and it looks like it’s stocked with a recessed board (so I can be confident the lens/board is a good match for each other), but again, I have no idea if the size is correct for the intrepid. I’ve emailed the seller to ask - not sure if anyone might visually recognize this style board and understand if it’s the correct 99x96mm size?