PDA

View Full Version : 8x10 LF Lenses

jurgenestanislao
26-Apr-2020, 23:33
Hello!

I'm relatively new to Large Format Photography. Currently, I'm using a fully restored Deardorff 8x10 with a Schneider Symmar-S 360mm f/6.8 MC pictured below.

I usually do street photography, social documentary, still life, found still life, portraits, and architecture shots with my smaller format cameras, but with my 8x10, I tend to focus on still life in controlled environments indoors, especially now with the current stay-at-home orders globally.

Regardless of subject, what other lenses/focal lengths for specific subject use, general purpose, or for sheer collecting/GAS are good and/or nice to have based on your personal opinions?

Oslolens
27-Apr-2020, 01:29
For macro, I suggest a 180 or 210mm, like Weston used on his peppers. Close to 1:1 the distance from lens to subject is 360 or 410mm respectively. A G-Claron 210 would also cover at infinity. A Nikkor-AM 210mm would not cover at infinity, but give you 1,5 stop more light to focus with. A 240mm G-Claron might give the right combination with your 360mm, but at 1:1 it needs 480mm bellows.

Sent fra min SM-G975F via Tapatalk

Two23
27-Apr-2020, 06:45
I shoot wet plate so I've been using lenses made 1844-1862. Two are Petzvals, two are achromatic doublets.

Kent in SD

Andrew Plume
27-Apr-2020, 06:56
I've always found that a 210mm is the right focal length for macro work..............

.........and your Deardorff is stunning, way too lovely to be used, I suggest that if put to use then it shouldn't venture outside.......:):)

regards

Andrew

Michael Kadillak
27-Apr-2020, 07:55
For studio macro work the Docter 240mm wide angle Germinar is a great choice. Small, light, Razor sharp / contrasty and considerable DOF. I also take mine to the field for macro work.

Ari
27-Apr-2020, 08:05