PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 Starter Lens

giganova
23-Apr-2020, 21:14
Hi all --

New on this forum, first post, and hi to everyone!

I've been an analogue photographer (35 and 120 film, Leicas and Mamiya RZ67) since the 80s and have always developed my own film. I just realized my life-long dream and purchased a LF camera, a refurbished Linhof Super Technika V that is on its way to me. Now I need a lens or better, lenses! ;) I'd be using the 4x5 mostly for landscapes and occasional portraits.

My favorite 135 lenses are 35mm, which I guess would be similar to a 100-120mm lens at 4x5? I've been searching Ebay but couldn't find many lenses in that medium-wide rage, the few that I found were very expensive (over $1k), and almost all were from Japan.

Do you have any recommendations what I should get? I read Kerry Thalman's "Future Classics" article. Beautiful lenses but not exactly cheap. Any recommendations for a medium-wide lens that doesn't break the bank? Or do you think I'd be better served with a 90mm + 150mm combo? Or maybe get a cheap 150mm to get my feet wet and then start building a lens collection from there?

Sorry for these basic questions, but LF photography is a completely different beast even for someone like me who knows every Leica lens ever built. :rolleyes:

Thanks for your help!

giganova
23-Apr-2020, 21:18
Here's a picture a recently took in Argentina. I guess I won't see that much grain in my future 4x5 photos :)

Corran
23-Apr-2020, 21:40
90 / 150 / 210 is the standard-issue recommendation. Anything from Schneider, Rodenstock, Nikon, or Fuji will be just fine. You don't need the higher-cost lenses with massive image circles until you know you need them.