PDA

View Full Version : Interested in 4 x 5

thebbqguy
14-Apr-2020, 17:39
I am interested in 4 x 5 photography.

What recommendations do you have for ways to learn, get started, spend less than $750 to get started?

I need to learn what I don't know but I don't want to wait till I learn it to get started because that day may never come.

I will have to find a lab for processing too.

Gary Beasley
14-Apr-2020, 17:49
You can start with a fairly cheap crown graphic or an older foldup. I would think seriously about processing your own film and contact printing( if b&w) so you can keep your costs down.

jim_jm
14-Apr-2020, 18:37
Lots of good information on the LFF Home page (https://www.largeformatphotography.info/). For starting out with 4x5, you should be able to find a variety of cameras and other needed equipment for well under your budget.
A good book to start with is "Using the View Camera" by Steve Simmons.

Welcome to LFF!

6x6TLL
14-Apr-2020, 18:42
I'm pretty new to LF myself. To start with the last question, I would suggest shooting B&W initially to learn. Process it yourself, the necessary equipment is cheap and readily available. I've been using Arista EDU 100 and 200 as a cheap option with which to learn the camera, movements, and keep the price of mistakes as low as possible.