PDA

View Full Version : Changing bags and dust

Rayt
28-Mar-2020, 21:01
I am a 5x7 newbie. I was on a very long road trip and shot 150 sheets of 5x7. At night in the motel I reloaded the holders with a new large size Harrison bag I bought for the trip. I am processing the film now and a dozen sheets into it noticed more dust I am used to with 4x5. For smaller formats up to 4x5 I use the typical cheapish Kalt and generic equivalents and dust was never a huge issue. Because the changing bag is so light and small I can navigate my arms to keep the fabric from touching the film. Not so the Harrison. I suppose I’ll have to use the Harrison Tent next time. Else I’ll bring duct tape and seal off the hotel bathroom to make sure it’s light tight.

What do experienced LF photographers do while on the road? The tent I suppose.

Steven Ruttenberg
28-Mar-2020, 23:34
I always use a small changing tent. What kind of dust problems? Pinhole type issues?

Rayt
28-Mar-2020, 23:50
I see little specks whenever there is open sky otherwise they get hidden in the details. I shoot HP5 and it isn’t emulsion defect.

John Layton
29-Mar-2020, 04:09
If I'm traveling with a changing bag, I'll forego its use when in motel rooms by utilizing its bathroom as a film-loading/unloading room - having carefully black-taped around door openings, laying everything out in front of me on a wiped/dried down counter space, shutting the lights off, and waiting patiently for about three minutes so that I can dark-adapt sufficiently to verify actual darkness prior to opening any dark slides.