PDA

View Full Version : explain like I'm 5......... 90mm lenses

BennoLF
3-Mar-2020, 10:07
Hey there,

I'm new to the LF game and I have a few questions about 90mm lenses.
As far as I can tell there are lenses like the Fujinon f/8 which are huge, and lenses like the Schneider f/6.8 which is tiny.......and faster........and cheaper.
Are the small Schneider-type lenses really muddy? Presumably there's a reason people pay more for a bigger and slower lens......are they way sharper?

Looking into buying a 90mm but I want to know what I'm doing.

Benno

BrianShaw
3-Mar-2020, 10:23
Your wish is my command!

Go potty, take a nap, eat a snack, and then get Mommy to read you some stories from the lens section of https://www.largeformatphotography.info/

Dan Fromm
3-Mar-2020, 10:23
Jes' plain Angulons have less coverage than modern wasp-waisted w/a lenses of the same focal length. By the way, there's also a 90/6.8 Raptar, different design than the jes' plain Angulon, same performance.

If you don't need movements the 90/6.8ers will do. If you need movements, they won't.

Bob Salomon
3-Mar-2020, 10:33
Jes' plain Angulons have less coverage than modern wasp-waisted w/a lenses of the same focal length. By the way, there's also a 90/6.8 Raptar, different design than the jes' plain Angulon, same performance.

If you don't need movements the 90/6.8ers will do. If you need movements, they won't.

And the 90mm WA Geragon.

Doremus Scudder
3-Mar-2020, 11:49
In this instance, two things make lenses bigger: Speed (maximum aperture) and coverage (size of image circle). This latter is a result of lens design: more and bigger elements are needed to do the job.