PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 Kodak HSI: any special considerations?

23rdhourphoto
2-Mar-2020, 22:47
Hey everyone,

I've come to this forum because I can't find any accounts online of people shooting Kodak HSI in large formats, and I've just bought a box of 25 sheets (expired '01, sealed, allegedly cold stored its whole life) from eBay. I've been shooting 4x5 for a few months now with good results; do I need to be wary of IR specifically in my film holders? Have any of you had issues specific to this film? I've read the datasheet and it suggests subdued light; what does this mean practically in the field?

On another note, what subject matter do you like to shoot for LF infrared? I'm considering using my pinhole board for some landscape work, and obviously foliage is great, but have you ever tried Portraits?

Thank you for your guidance; I'm relatively new in LF compared to most of you and look forward to your advice.

Doremus Scudder
3-Mar-2020, 12:01
Making sure your bellows are opaque to infrared is a consideration. Some bellows aren't and will fog the film. Most main-stream filmholders should be fine, but check darkslide opacity to infrared if in doubt.

You'll have to figure out the focus shift too. There are likely charts for how much correction and which way for various focal lengths and subject-to-film distances online somewhere. Maybe someone will contribute here with one.

Load and unload (and develop) the film in total darkness just like other LF film. The "subdued light" recommendation is for handling roll film.

Best,

Doremus

paulbarden
3-Mar-2020, 12:21
Kodak HIE infrared sheet film of that age requires special handling: do NOT touch the emulsion side of the sheets with anything but cotton gloves, or there's a significant chance you'll leave marks (I speak from experience with 8x10 sheets of HIE)