PDA

View Full Version : Best enlarger you have used

shutterboy
28-Feb-2020, 23:57
Out of all the enlargers you have used for 4x5, which is the top of the list in your opinion in terms of ease of use, features and functionality? I am new to LF photography and looking for my first enlarger to print B/W for now and RA4 in the near future.

I have some experience using the LPL 4550 while in school but that enlarger had some light leaks around the head. I wanted to understand if there is anything that is better.

Thanks

Peter Lewin
29-Feb-2020, 06:16
Your question has to be divided into two parts: the enlarger chassis, and the enlarger head, since most enlargers will take a variety of heads (light sources). For a chassis, I would put my DeVere 504 in the top tier, since I don't know if there is one definitive best. The DeVere is built like a tank, and I find the baseboard controls very convenient, other designs occasionally need extension arms or motors to avoid the need for very long arms to reach the controls for larger enlargements. I use a ZoneVI VC head along with the matching Compensating Timer which I like, but would not argue is the best. From what I have read, the German-made Heiland head and timer, which is a modern design using LEDs and comes in versions to fit most chassis, might win the "head contest," but they are also very expensive.

Peter De Smidt
29-Feb-2020, 06:20
I agree with Peter. A De Vere 504 is an excellent chassis.

Renato Tonelli
29-Feb-2020, 06:24
My order of preference for reliability, ease of use, quality-build (from personal use):

1. Durst
2. LPL
3. Beseler

I have never worked with a DeVere, which has a great reputation. I have worked with a very old Omega D2 and was not enthused by spending so much time trying to align it - to be fair, it was in a school darkroom where students cranked the thing to near death.