PDA

View Full Version : Light leaks and possible film processing problems

fredekblad
22-Feb-2020, 03:00
I have been developing my own film for over 10 years and never had any problems. But since I started out with large format about a year ago, it's just a big mess and I am trying not to give up on it.

I brought my Chamonix 45N-2 with a Sinaron SE 150mm to me and my wife's vacation in Thailand in December last year and yesterday I finally got around to develop. On all the negatives there is what I believe is a light leak across the image, and on some there are also some obvious problems with development.

Here's two examples. In the first one is there is a big streak across the image. In the second a similar streak is present but also what almost looks like a black rock to the right in the water, a wavy line going from upper right down and also some dots or circles on the left side in the sea.

First image:

And second image:

I am using the B's reel to develop.
What can be my problem or problems?

Have a good weekend everybody! :)
Fred

fredekblad
22-Feb-2020, 06:25
Well, this is embarrassing. I remember now that the notch was on the upper right..meaning the emulsion was facing in towards the plastic. I wish I could blame the camera on this one but, boy do I feel stupid now!
So this is how negatives turn out if you put them with the emulsion side in. Lesson learned.

Tin Can
22-Feb-2020, 06:54
I like mistakes
Adds a magical element

fredekblad
22-Feb-2020, 12:59
Thanks Tin Can, cheering me up :)

blue4130
22-Feb-2020, 16:19
Well, this is embarrassing. I remember now that the notch was on the upper right..meaning the emulsion was facing in towards the plastic. I wish I could blame the camera on this one but, boy do I feel stupid now!
So this is how negatives turn out if you put them with the emulsion side in. Lesson learned.