PDA

View Full Version : Shanghai 8x10 100 Film Test

ic-racer
22-Dec-2019, 21:37
I got some Shanghai 8x10 100 film to try. I ran a strip of it against HP5 that I usually use.

Both strips processed at the same time.

H&D Curves:

ic-racer
22-Dec-2019, 21:37
Results show it to be three stops slower than the HP5. Those "ISO" numbers are compared to some Tri-x previously tested and defined in the software as "ISO 400"

blue4130
23-Dec-2019, 02:44
Sounds about right, I have been shooting it in 4x5 for a few years (probably 1000 sheets at this point) and I settled on 50 iso working well for me.

Tin Can
23-Dec-2019, 05:31
Good to hear, seems most film works best at 1/2 rated ASA

took me some time to accept that all film is rated by all manufacturers incorrectly one stop fast

I made a lot of thin negs

Sounds about right, I have been shooting it in 4x5 for a few years (probably 1000 sheets at this point) and I settled on 50 iso working well for me.

Jim Fitzgerald
23-Dec-2019, 13:43
I shot my 14x17 at ISO 80 and developed in Pyrocat HD 2:2:100 and the negs came out great for carbon. Good stuff.

ic-racer
23-Dec-2019, 15:24
Good to hear, seems most film works best at 1/2 rated ASA

took me some time to accept that all film is rated by all manufacturers incorrectly one stop fast

I made a lot of thin negs

Realize in my test I'm comparing it to HP5 and Tri-x which I defined as "400." This is not any in-camera test, so if one's "in-camera" test requires those films to be rated at 200, then this Shanghai would likely need to be 25.

I recently got a new meter (Sekonic 588), so I have yet to re do my in-camera test with the new meter. Right now I just pointed the new meter and old meter at a number of targets and adjusted the calibration of the 588 so they read the same. I have yet to confirm with in-camera test at this time.

That in-camera test needs to be done with daylight and it is dark when I go to work and dark when I come home. (shortest day was just yesterday).