PDA

View Full Version : Attaching Readyload holder

Dawid
30-Nov-2005, 06:26
Hi

I have a Crown Graphic with a Graflok back and got the new Readyload holder (via post) today but although it fits onto the back I am not entirely sure exactly how it is suppose to fit as there isn't really anything holding it there apart from the top and bottom slide locks which doesn't slide into anything.

Am I right to assume that the whole back comes off and then the Readyload fits on it alone -- or does it slide under the springloaded back which then acts as a sort of pressure plate holding the readyload holder there ?

I've never done LF before, never even seen it so everthing is virgin territory.

Thanks for help

Cheers
Dawid

Paul Cocklin
30-Nov-2005, 06:31
Hi David, welcome to large format.. The readyload holder slides under the spring loaded ground glass just like a normal film holder.
Paul

Henry Friedman
30-Nov-2005, 07:21
Speaking of regular filmholders, AKA "double darks", you may want to pick up a couple of those to get started on. I love Readyloads, but the film is expensive, and if you're like most of us, you'll be making plenty of mistakes at first. These will include, but are not limited to: failing to close the shutter before pulling the slide, exposing at the wrong speed/aperture, double exposing, not exposing, forgetting filter factors or reciprocity, fogging the film edge, etc, etc.

You'll kick yourself less hard if the film is .70 per failure, rather than $2.50 (for B&W).

Have fun.

steve simmons
30-Nov-2005, 08:34
If you are new to large format there are several articles in the free Articles sectionh of our web site that will be helpful

www.viewcamera.com

steve simmons

Kevin Crisp
30-Nov-2005, 11:34