PDA

View Full Version : Value of 8x10 Linhof Kardan Color Triplex

J. P. Mose
28-Nov-2005, 14:57
I bid on a 8x10 Linhof Kardan over the past week. I got carried away and bid high but still lost. I suspect that the high bidder will not pay up to the reserve (or would have even paid if the reserve was met). Will some of you Linhof experts look at the following Ebay posting and tell me what you think this setup is worth?:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7565104961

I have seen (and sold once) 8x10 Color Kardans sell for less than $1000 in nice shape. The Triplex version is harder to find.

Thanks for your time.

Steve Hamley
28-Nov-2005, 15:47
J.P.,

I'm no Linhof expert but I did research the cost of one of these a few months ago for use with really large portrait lenses because of the strength an the size of the lensboard.

I'm guessing that it's worth about the maximum bid, maybe $500 more if you really want one. The 4 extra rails (although I don't think the black ones are gen-u-wine Linhof), "intermediate" standard and extra bellows, head, and 6 lensboards which are virtually unobtainable might triple the kilobuck or maybe a bit more you'd get for a "basic" setup.

However, very few view cameras will bring more than $3K on eBay, no matter what they are. Anything that brings over $3K better be a desirable, modern camera in near-mint shape that you don't have to work hard to find accessories. The only "common" cameras that pop to mind would be a Sinar P2 in a 'rail, or some of the high-end, 8x10-and-up field cameras like Ebony, Phillips, and the like.

Glenn Evans has one for $2K if you want one, but doesn't have all the accessories.

http://www.glennview.com/vcam.htm

Quality Camera had something similar for about $1,100 I think, but I don't remeber if it was a Triplex - it was a consignment IIRC. You might give them a call.

The shipping also kills you if for some reason you'd need or want to return it.

Steve

Richard Boulware