PDA

View Full Version : Question on Tachihara focusing gear

Julio Barros
25-Nov-2005, 14:09
Hi,

I'm new to LF and bought a Calumet wood field about a year ago. I just now noticed that it does not like to rack all the way out using the knob which turns the rod across the bed. The rod has two little gears that line up with the toothed bar underneath the the part of the bed where the front standard connects.

At least one of the gears seems to spin pretty freely. I'm not sure if it is supposed to be completely static or somehow partially free.

Could someone tell me if the gears are supposed to rotate or not. If not, does anyone know where to get a new working gear rod? I appreciate any info you can give me. Thanks.

Julio

Guy Boily
25-Nov-2005, 15:51
Julio, I have similar cameras and most of the time the gear is locked in position with a small set screw which you can tighten with an allen key wrench. Some may have a small dowel pin. It may have fallen out. But for sure it should not be loose. When you rack out your bed, both gears have to be working together. Hope this helps.
www.guyboily.com

Ernest Purdum
25-Nov-2005, 16:14
You might talk to Calumet if you haven't already. Their reputation is that they are pretty good about support. I haven't had much personal experience with their parts people but what I have had has been excellent.

David Starr
25-Nov-2005, 16:51
Is there a knob on both ends of the focusing shaft? I've found on my Tachihara that when I'm focusing using the right hand knob, the left one will self tighten as I rack the bellows out. I have to make sure the left hand knob is loose or this will happen every time.

Jim Rhoades
26-Nov-2005, 07:01
And if your really out of luck, some of these gears are not held in place with set screws. They are silver soldered, that's a real PITA to fix.

I think Dave gave you the answer though. My 'Dorff's lock down this way too.

Alan Davenport
26-Nov-2005, 12:24