PDA

View Full Version : Midtone Machines - Automatic Film Processing Machine

AndrewBurns
12-Jul-2019, 01:25
Hi all, I'm an engineer from New Zealand who is also a (recent) keen film photographer, starting with 35mm and moving up to a lovely Chamonix 4x5 field camera.

I've done a fair bit of home film development of various kinds and have spent some time talking to local photographers and small film lab owners. As a result of this I've decided to kick off a project to build and eventually market a new fully automatic film processing machine targeted at the hobby/light commercial market.

As part of this effort I've put together a quick website where I'll be posting regular updates of the progress of this project, and hopefully getting people interested and commenting/discussing so that we all end up with the best possible result.

So if this sounds like something that would interest you, the website is http://midtonemachines.com

Please go have a look, and subscribe/comment/share on social media if you'd like. I also intend to post updates into this thread as I go as well.

Peter De Smidt
12-Jul-2019, 04:24
Good luck with the project!

Tin Can
12-Jul-2019, 05:11
Yes, good luck!

Many here shoot only sheet film.

For some this forum is the only social media.

I signed on for updates.

Oren Grad
12-Jul-2019, 07:46
Good luck, Andrew! To make sure that your efforts are well-targeted and that the feedback you get is informative and realistic, it will be helpful for you to explain in what ways, if any, you expect your device to differ functionally from alternatives currently available new - Jobo CPP3, Stark SST4/SST8, Filmomat, Heiland TAS - and roughly what price level you will be targeting.

AndrewBurns
12-Jul-2019, 13:18