PDA

View Full Version : Ica Ideal 325

Jiri Vasina
3-Nov-2005, 11:10
Hello,

I'm very new to LF photography, just today I bought an Ica Ideal 325 camera (ground glass 10x15cm, has markings for 9x12cm, 6.5x9cm) with a lens Carl-Zeiss Jena Tessar 16.5cm/1:4.5 with Compur shutter seemingly working accurately 1/150s-1s + B + T [I'll test the exact timings tomorrow]. Can you recommend a film holder that I could possibly use (I've seen BW sheetfilm in the sizes of 6.5x9cm and 9x12cm in shops here)? Is there anyone with a hint of knowledge about these cameras?

[I've so far been working with medium format - Pentax 6x7 and contemplated moving larger. But the cost even of a used camera were prohibitive. That's the reason I ended up with a camera over 80years old, upon which I stumbled in a second-hand shop by chance. The camera seems to be in wonderful condition, lens clean, shutter working, bellows tight, groundglass unbroken. It even has a finder!]

I also both a Plaubel Rollex in the 6x9cm format for a 120 roll film. For this one I either plan to buy an old holder and mount it in this, or do some woodworking and create a holder with the help of my friend.

Do you know if I can also mount a different lens? The lens is removable, but is not placed in any of the modern lens-boards. Just bare lens with shutter with a simple lock mechanism. The outer diameter of the rear part is around 53mm.

I'd be glad for any recommendations, ideas, tips or help on this camera.

Thanks a real lot

Jiri

Ole Tjugen
3-Nov-2005, 14:24
The camera uses 10x15cm plates, known as "Postkartenformat". You need to find the correct type of plate holders for your camera, then get hold of film inserts so that you can use "modern" film. Then comes the problem of finding film in 10x15cm size...