PDA

View Full Version : Buy used Toyo w/accessories or brand new Chamonix

prestonedavis
6-Jun-2019, 14:30
I hesitated posting this because there is so much information out there comparing different models. But without having anyone one else to really help sort this decision out I figured I'd come here.

A little background: I've been shooting LF for about 2 years now. I started out with a Sinar Norma 4x5 but recently sold it because it was just too heavy for my use. I did a couple hikes with it and boy is that thing a beast!

So now I'm in the market for a field camera. I've always had my eye on the Chamonix. It's just so nice to look at. I could buy one and not feel bad about it. But there is a Toyo 45ax for sale in my area for a couple hundred dollars cheaper that has given me something to think about. It comes with accessories (tripod, camera bag, loupe, lens holders and a Fujinon W 150 w/lens board). I know I can also get great results with the Toyo, but I'm not sure how it will feel on an all day hike. I wonder how it would compare to the heft of my Sinar Norma.

I do know it's not as pretty as the Chamonix.

So if anyone can help me brainstorm the decision process I would appreciate it. So in a nutshell, what's important to me are ease of use, weight savings, durability and money savings.

Here's a link to my flickr album of LF shots to give you an idea of the kind of things I shoot: https://flic.kr/s/aHskYRdhaX

ETA: I already have accessories and don't really need the ones coming with the Toyo. I have film holders, a tripod, camera bag, lenses and all the other important stuff.

Oren Grad
6-Jun-2019, 14:39
FWIW, the weight of the 45AX is specified at 5.8 lb. The various current Chamonix 4x5 models range from 3.2 lb to 4.3 lb. I think a 4x5 Norma is in the ballpark of 7 lb, but you could weigh yours to be sure. Of course, the field cameras will pack more compactly and will be a bit easier to set up and take down when you're on the go.

jnantz