PDA

View Full Version : cost expectations for 8x10 restoration

Ethan
6-Jun-2019, 13:44
I'm trying to get into 8x10, as I've mentioned in other threads. I recently acquired an 8x10 enlarger for free, which was nice, though it needs some work. However, the enlarger isn't very useful until I have negatives to enlarge, so finding a camera is the next step. I'm looking for one that needs work to become usable, as I am a student on a tight budget, and a working one goes way above what I can afford. I've talked to Catlabs, as I don't live too far from them, and they have a few cameras that might work, but I don't know what old 8x10s are worth, so I have no idea if they are good deals or not. What should I expect to pay for an 8x10 that needs restoring? I'm looking for one that has all/most of the metal parts intact, but I have a wood shop where I can make replacement wooden pieces, so those being damaged is ok.

Also, do any of you guys have suggestions for other places I should check out for old "project" 8x10 cameras?

(I know asking for valuations is not allowed, but I don't think this falls under that, if the moderators disagree I'm happy to delete it)

Tin Can
6-Jun-2019, 13:47
The best place to find any LF camera is right on this forum.

30 days from joining you will have access to the FS and better the WTB sections.

Post your desire on Wanted to Buy before you buy...

Anything!

Ethan
6-Jun-2019, 13:49
cool, I'll wait around then I guess:)

Tin Can
6-Jun-2019, 13:51
And tell your story as many here want to help beginners of any age.

cool, I'll wait around then I guess:)

Oren Grad
6-Jun-2019, 13:54
(I know asking for valuations is not allowed, but I don't think this falls under that, if the moderators disagree I'm happy to delete it)

Make it "what's the most affordable way for a student on a budget to try 8x10, and what are the risks and specific things to watch out for if you start with a 'beater' camera?" and you've got an excellent topic for discussion.