PDA

View Full Version : Wista RF - Rangefinder coupler issues?

HalideReducer
30-May-2019, 20:39
I just picked up a Wista RF from the big auction place, specifically for the rangefinder.

I'm new to the Wista cameras, but I have the PDF manuals from Butkus that explain operation of the rangefinder. I believe I'm using it right.

I have the Nikkor 150mm lens, which should work with the rangefinder.
The labels for the cam change dial have come loose, so it's hard to tell whether it's set on 135, 150, or 180. I've tried all 3.
I left the upper track even with the lower track. The instructions say to extend it for the 180mm lens but makes no mention of the position for the 150mm. I've tried it both ways.
The manual states that the coupler for the rangefinder should be able to focus from infinity to 1.11m with the 150mm lens. Setting the camera on a tripod and focusing on an object ~3m away, I can't get the rangefinder image aligned regardless of the settings.

The seller reported the rangefinder was functional and aligned when it was sold. When I received it, a small black screw fell out when I opened the camera. Visual inspection doesn't show any empty screw holes.

Operator error? Issue with the rangefinder?

Oren Grad
30-May-2019, 21:26
When you set the cam (third page of the manual), does the RF coincide at infinity?

Have you set the infinity stops for the 150?

I left the upper track even with the lower track. The instructions say to extend it for the 180mm lens but makes no mention of the position for the 150mm. I've tried it both ways.

The Japanese half of the instructions says to use the same extension for 135 and 150.

Bob Salomon
30-May-2019, 21:37
I just picked up a Wista RF from the big auction place, specifically for the rangefinder.

I'm new to the Wista cameras, but I have the PDF manuals from Butkus that explain operation of the rangefinder. I believe I'm using it right.

I have the Nikkor 150mm lens, which should work with the rangefinder.