PDA

View Full Version : NOOB Question About Starter LF Cameras

gearhed
30-May-2019, 16:34
Hello everyone,

I am brand new to LF cameras and this forum so PLEASE go easy.

I have been looking at this hobby for many years and after my wife passed, I figured I would pick up this hobby to pass the time. I know a little
about the cameras but I am looking for the absolute beginners LF camera. Not really the cheapest, just a well documented LF camera with plenty of parts available and upgrades as well. Kind of the workhorse of LF cameras.

I don't intend to spark a debate by any means and all models are welcome. Just friendly input on a camera that fits the following criteria.

At least 4X5
Does black and white (probably all)
A camera lens recommendation that will not distort the image at all (like fish eye or anything with zero distortion) +
Has a rail system to mount for moving the camera closer to the subject
Readily available

Thanks for taking the time to read this. If I have misplaced this post, feel free to delete or move it to the correct topic section. Again, thanks and I hope this question is not too broad. I guess I am looking for the perfect starter based on the criteria above. All opinions are welcome.

Thanks!

Vaughn
30-May-2019, 16:51
Sinar Norma...a professional-grade camera. Can be upgraded from 4x5 to 5x7 and 8x10

lenses -- a large variety to choose from! All modern lenses will suit fine -- it will depend on your plans of use...wide, normal or long lenses. Close-ups or not.

If you had wanted to take the camera into the field (non-rail), then I would have suggested a Deardorff Special (4x5 with the possibilty of using a 5x7 back).

Luis-F-S
30-May-2019, 17:08
If you want a monorail camera, it's hard to beat the Sinar F2. Readily available, and easier to find and less costly than a Norma. I've bought 2 through this forum for under $400 ea. Parts are readily available used. With any camera, if you want to move closer to the subject, you move the tripod!