PDA

View Full Version : Fujifilm Fujinon 180mm W (marked on the lens barrel)

Jbuck
10-May-2019, 12:31
hello.
Im searching for something sharper inside a modern shutter to replace my 210mm Tessar f3.5
I found a nice Fujifilm Fujinon 180mm W in good condition and wanted to ask if anyone has any experiences with this lens.
I would be for usage on 4x5.

I have used Sironar and Symmar lenses before, but never a Fujinon.. Any thoughts on it?

thank you

Larry Gebhardt
10-May-2019, 13:02
The Fujinon W lenses are wide with a large image circle. I think the 180mm W has an 80 degree field of view and just barely covers 8x10. It's probably overkill for 4x5. Overkill because it's larger and more expensive than a 180mm plasmat. In addition it may be single coated since I think they refreshed the line with a new designation when they went to multi coating, but I'm no expert on Fuji lenses. If you plan on moving to 8x10 it may be a good dual purpose lens, but I'd go for something like the Fujinon A 180 or any of the Nikon, Schneider or Rodenstock 180 to 210 plasmats. They are so cheap they are almost giving them away it seems.

Jbuck
10-May-2019, 13:07
Thank you!

this model should be EBS (multi coated) and the circle is 280..
I love my Rodenstock 360 MC and my 240 Sirnoar N (both for 8x10)... But i have no experiences with Fijinon... i think i will give it a try

Larry Gebhardt
10-May-2019, 13:19
Thank you!

this model should be EBS (multi coated) and the circle is 280..
I love my Rodenstock 360 MC and my 240 Sirnoar N (both for 8x10)... But i have no experiences with Fijinon... i think i will give it a try

If it's marked on the barrel I believe you are right that it's multicoated. I missed that in your title. Should be a good lens. I considered one for 5x7, but ended up with a Sironar S. That's rated at 276mm with only 75 degrees of coverage. So I'm surprised the Fujinon W at 80 degrees is only 280mm. If the price is right and the shutter is good I'd probably go for it too.