PDA

View Full Version : Caltar Rodenstock 135mm aperture scale

korby
6-May-2019, 11:37
Hello, newbie here.

Just got into 4x5 and I got a good deal on eBay for a Caltar II-N Rodenstock 135mm f/5.6.
Nice glass, clean, the shutter looks new and aperture knob is not faded.

So far so good, until I noticed the knob moves past 5.6 and past 64. Upon inspection, the blades are slightly closed at the 5.6 mark, and closed even further past f/64.

What are your thoughts on this? I'm guessing since the markings on the aperture scale don't match what the blades do, I'm unable to set the aperture properly. The scale is unusable. Is there an easy fix to this other than returning the lens and getting a new one?

Thanks for the wise advice!

JimL
6-May-2019, 12:43
For many shutters on large format lenses there are no limits on the aperture lever's movement. It's normal for the shutter blades to be just visible at the large opening, and for the knob to move past either end of the f-stop scale. The aperture is set properly when the pointer is pointing at the desired mark on the aperture scale!

rdeloe
6-May-2019, 12:56
My Caltar 90mm f/6.8 does the same thing. I haven't noticed this design on Fujinon or Nikkor lenses. My Caltar works fine though, so enjoy.

Vaughn
6-May-2019, 13:08
The f-stop number is determined by the focal length of the lens divided by the diameter of the aperture.

So you can double-check it by measuring and a little math, if you like.

Larry Gebhardt
6-May-2019, 13:16
The one I have behaves the same way. Mine has 0011.067 on the aperture scale. What does yours say?

Bob Salomon
6-May-2019, 16:07