PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to LF photography. Which of my 7 LF lenses are worth keeping/worth selling?

manfrominternet
28-Apr-2019, 00:59
Hi there,

I'm a photography MFA student who is relatively new to large format photography. I bought an enormous box of large format gear including a Toyo 45g and 8 lenses. (My professor sold me his entire large format set for next to nothing.) I sold the clunky, yet beautiful in its own way, Toyo 45g and purchased a Linhof Technikardan 45. Anyway, instead of going through all these lenses and burning money and learning the hard way (and I stupidly spent nearly all the money I had thanks to my gear acquisition syndrome), I appeal to you experts to ask which of these lenses you think are worth keeping, and which of these lenses are worth selling. I'm primarily a landscape and architectural shooter. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Here's my list, from wide angle to telephoto:

-65mm Nikon Nikkor-SW f/4
-90mm Sinar (Rodenstock) Sinaron W f/8 (Multicoated)
-135mm Schneider-Kreuznach Xenotar f/3.5
-150mm Schneider Symmar-S f/5.6 (Multicoated)
-180mm Fujifilm Fujinon-W f/5.6 (really NW, New Wide)
-210mm Schneider Symmar-S f/5.6 (Multicoated)
-270mm Rodenstock Rotelar f/5.6
-360mm Rodenstock Sironar-N f/6.8 (multicoated)

Many thanks!

Leszek Vogt
28-Apr-2019, 01:50
If that was me, I'd give all of them a try and see what you wish to keep. From my narrow knowledge of optics, Rotelar seem to have a smaller circle, tho you can still shoot (@F22). The Xenotar could have thorium in it, but I'd presume negligible....it also has a tight circle, but I've see them "cultish" expensive ($500+). Good luck.

Les

Oslolens
28-Apr-2019, 02:07
Hi there,
Linhof Technikardan 45.

Many thanks!

Be careful trying to mount the 360!
A friend tested my 360mm Nikkor without success, so I doubt you can. As you always can crop later, it's not a big loss.

Big Wehman, Toyo 5x7" and a small Chamonix

Pere Casals
28-Apr-2019, 03:25
Hi there,