PDA

View Full Version : How would this older Dagor in barrel have been mounted?

reddesert
26-Apr-2019, 14:34
Hello, By way of introduction I have lurked here for a while (and all the way back to Usenet once upon a time). I have some experience with photography and optics but not as much practical experience with LF, especially "antique" equipment.

Many years ago I got this old 210mm Goerz Dagor in a barrel mount. The attached photos should show that it's labeled: Goerz Berlin Dagor Dopp. Anastigmat Serie III, 210mm. The SN is shadowed in the photo but it's near 293,000, which if the SN table on the web applies, is about 1910. It is labeled in US aperture numbers.

The barrel mount is unusual to me. The entire front turns to adjust the aperture, including the outer ring and all of the black-painted part of the front barrel, visible in the side view second photo. Clearly, to mount it something has to hold the rear part of the barrel, the brass-colored part with some old black goop on it in the side view. There are two tiny set screw poking out of the barrel side and a hole for a third. There's no flange or other seating surface.

How would this have been mounted originally? My best guess is that it was in a tube of matching diameter, perhaps felt-lined, and the set screws matched the tube somehow to keep it from rotating.

And of course the question, how should I mount it for use? I poked it through this cardboard lensboard just to try out, but it doesn't hold against rotation and leaks light around the lens, of course. I could make a sturdier lensboard and put black tape all over the lens/board joint, but it would be nice to have something more reliable. I thought about trying to work up some kind of clamping arrangement with semicircular conduit hangers, and maybe putting a O-ring over the lens/board joint as part of the light seal. Opinions and discussion are welcome.

Steven Tribe
27-Apr-2019, 00:33