PDA

View Full Version : Tips on loading 4x5 film into the holders - Help needed

niceman75
11-Apr-2019, 01:31
Hi I am a newbie and would like to have some good tips on how to load 4x5 sheets of film into the holders properly.

I have a few questions:

1. Is there a suggested way on how to keep the film in your hand while you are inserting it into the slides of the holder? Do you have to hold it by the side (lengthwise) edges without grabbing the film between your fingertips in any way? Or can you hold the indexed side between your fingertips ? And is "grabbing" the film between your finger tips certainly going to produce finger prints, or does that depend on how clean you hands are? Could you use thin cotton gloves?

3. Is it recommended that the holder is placed onto some surface lying down, while you load it, or should you be holding it with your other hand?

4. I find it quite hard to load film into a "changing bag". Is it normal? Should I try the film loading "tent", or the pop-up (collapsible) film changing room?

Any help much appreciated !!! :)

rdeloe
11-Apr-2019, 05:11
You may find it easier to watch a demonstration. There are many videos on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=loading+sheet+film

I load my 4x5 holders in a standard size changing bag. It takes a bit of practice, but it gets easier.

David Schaller
11-Apr-2019, 05:45
In the video I just watched the guy had his fingers all over the film. Not good. Hold it on the side edges!

BrianShaw
11-Apr-2019, 05:46
Yes, watch videos...

But what might be best for you is to load a sheet of film in the light, watching what you are doing. Then with your eyes closed. When you are comfortable that you can load a sheet of film properly try it in a changing bag.

Also practice opening and closing the film box in the changing bag. You’ll want to ensure no errors there either.

jp
11-Apr-2019, 05:53