PDA

View Full Version : LF beginner Film

roscoetuff-Skip Mersereau
10-Apr-2019, 16:14
I've been shooting and developing 35mm and 120 C-41 and B&W with a Jobo for a while. Had kind of settled on Delta 400 as my main B&W and Portra 400 in C41. Works fine and I feel like after cranking a lot through, it's a stable process.

So I'm a beginner at 4X5, and am thinking from Ilford's own tech sheets that FP4+ might be more "forgiving" in exposure and development than Delta 100. I'd not really found FP4+ or Delta all that much different in terms of difficulty with exposure in the small formats, so I kind of wonder about all this. Granted, the bellows factor and s-effect, tilt, swing and all that with 4X5 have me admitting that there might really be something to the "mo' bettah lattitude" argument. And I say this because I expect to make plenty of mistakes. It's how I learn.

SO what's my question? What do folks REALLY find in shooting? Is Delta really less forgiving? Does FP4+ really have better tonality and wider lattitude? Which would you recommend for a 4X5 newby?

Thanks!

Corran
10-Apr-2019, 16:22
Whatever you can get cheaper between the two will probably be fine until you decide you like or don't like it. I personally like Delta 100 a lot in Pyrocat. I haven't shot enough FP4+ to really compare seriously but in HC-110 it seems to have a bit more grain - which is mostly irrelevant in LF. I wouldn't say FP4+ has "better tonality" as a rule, but it probably does have wider latitude.

rdeloe
10-Apr-2019, 17:45
You'll get a lot of opinions and strong views on this... It rarely ends well. ;)