PDA

View Full Version : Mystery Fog

baronvonaaron
5-Apr-2019, 16:51
Sorry to make a new thread, I'm sure there's been thousands of these already.

I just pulled a batch of negative out of the darkroom this morning and all of them have similar fogging. I don't know conclusively what is causing it but I have a suspicion it's sun related. Here's the facts: Shot on an intrepid 4x5 that I've been using for 3 years without this problem. Used a film holder that I've been using for 10 years without problem. all exposed and unexposed film was stored in 3 part film boxes inside an xray bag and travelled via carry-on. This is my 3rd batch of negatives processed in an SP445 tank.

the beach shot was taken on a very sunny/clear day around noon, and the one of the house was taken around 4pm on a slightly overcast day. both of these sheets came from the same box of film.

this one was taken with the same holder and camera about a week later, stored in the same download box. same sunny and clear conditions as the first image, but processed in a previous batch. this sheet came from a different box of film.

my question is if this looks like an error on my part, or could it possibly be an issue with the SP445 tank? it doesn't look like it to me, but is there a chance that this is a manufacturer defect? i still have a dozen sheets to process and i don't want to tray process all of them.

Louis Pacilla
5-Apr-2019, 17:46
Just glancing at your leaks I would think a combination of weak back springs & and not pinching the rear standard and spring back frame together while pulling the dark slide. That would be my guess.