PDA

View Full Version : Focus problems Toyo View D45M

photojpg
26-Mar-2019, 14:21
Hello,All,

I have a Toyo View D45M which I have written about before. I have been able to get my back focus problem fixed I believe. But My photos all seem to lack sharpness. I am new to 4x5 so maybe i'm used to how medium format negatives look as far as sharpness goes. All my 4x5 negatives no matter the film or film holder used seem to lack sharpness. They dont really look out of focus but they all look rather soft to me. I have a Rodenstock sironar N 210mm 5.6 and a Calumet Caltar II 90mm 6.8 as well as a Fujinon W 150mm 5.6. Do 4x5 look different under a loupe due to their size? it could also be due to my newness to focusing a LF camera. But all my negatives seem this way with every lens.

Also when printed in the darkroom my prints exhibit the same problem. Does anyone have any tips on focusing LF negatives in the darkroom? the lack of grain makes it hard for me.

Bob Salomon
26-Mar-2019, 14:32
What are you using to focus? An adjustable opaque loupe? A clear print loupe? No loupe?

If you are using a properly adjusted loupe is your film properly inserted in your film holder?

Is any area of your film sharp?

Are you shooting at optimal aperture of your lens, f22?

What tripod are you using?

Are you in the Bay Area? If so show Looking Glass what your results are.
Are you closer to Walnut Creek? If so show Camera West.
Are you in SF? Show Bear Images.
Are you closer to San Jose? Show San Jose Camera.

Paul Ron
26-Mar-2019, 14:35
perhaps its a DOF problem? what f-stops are you using?

is your tripod sturdy enough?

photojpg
26-Mar-2019, 15:18