PDA

View Full Version : Kentmere papers

jantman
20-Oct-2005, 13:26
Does anyone know anything about Kentmere papers? Specifically the VC RC?

I've never used them before, but at B&H, they're the best value in rolls of VC RC.

John Cook
20-Oct-2005, 13:42
Sorry, Jason, no experience yet with their VC RC.

But I have recently put in a stock of Kentmere textured-surface fiber-based art papers with which to experiment this winter. They seem to be making the sort of thing, aimed at making classical display prints that hasn’t been available from Kodak for decades.

In celebration of the wonderful old printing techniques, I may even start wearing a tie in the darkroom.

Best news, in this era of vanishing manufacturers, is that the company is apparently quite financially sound with absolutely no corporate debt. Neat!

http://www.kentmereusa.com/

Not to slight B&H, but I have been dealing with Freestyle by telephone on this one, even though I’m on the East Coast.

Freestyle’s customer service guys are extremely patient and couldn’t be more helpful. What a pleasant change from the “New York Minute”.

And, I know you won’t believe this tall tale, but the shipping cartons actually stay together, keeping the paper boxes light-tight!

Christopher Nisperos
20-Oct-2005, 15:01
Good paper. A few years back I played around with one of their cream-tone papers and I was really pleased with the results. Sorry I'm not able to give you more specific or scientific info.

Scott Davis
20-Oct-2005, 15:18
Jason-

I recently made the switch (at least at smaller sizes, until I burn through my inventory) from Bergger to Kentmere fiber papers. I really like the Kentmere neutral tone VC fiber glossy. I also get mine from Freestyle. If I were you, I'd order a pack or two of whatever size you want to use, and give it a try to see if you like it without a major commitment. I highly recommend the Kentmere papers.

MIke Sherck
21-Oct-2005, 07:26