PDA

View Full Version : newb help: mounting a lens

kevinc11
17-Mar-2019, 13:44
I am a 4x5 newb. I'm hoping someone can help me figure out how to mount my lens.
I recently purchased a Schneider Xenar 150mm f4.5 Lens Compur Shutter from Ebay. Separately, I bought a Copal 1 lens board.

If you see the attached picture (from the ebay listing) there is a large ring -- not the retaining ring that can screw off -- surrounding the back of the lens. Do I remove this ring to attach the lens? Right now the lens does not fit on the board. I've researched and I have the correct Copal size and I've measured to make sure I didn't receive an incorrect one by mistake.

If I look at other examples of this lens -- https://www.camleyphotographic.com/shop/schneider-xenar-f4-5-150mm-lens-w-compur-shutter-condition-5e-6181/ -- that large ring is not on the back of the lens.

Is there anyone that can possibly offer advice on how to mount this lens?

Thank you in advance for your time and help.

Jac@stafford.net
17-Mar-2019, 13:55
Does your ring screw onto the lens? If it does, then technically it is a flange which is to be screwed onto the front of the board. If it does not screw onto your lens you have received inappropriate mounting. IOW, screwed.

kevinc11
17-Mar-2019, 14:00
Thanks for the prompt reply. The ring screws on the back of the lens, on the larger ring I mentioned. Is that what you mean?
Attaching a photo here. 188890

Bob Salomon
17-Mar-2019, 14:15
Unscrew that threaded ring on the back. Then you will need a retaining ring.
Throw that piece that you unscrew away.
It looks like somebody salvaged this lens from a piece of equipment.

Otherwise return it and buy from someone else.

kevinc11
17-Mar-2019, 14:18
Hi Bob, I'm unable to remove the large ring. It can't be screwed off.

Looks like returning is my only option.

Bob Salomon
17-Mar-2019, 14:48

And buy a better lens, like a plasmat in a 0 shutter if it is a 150mm.

Jac@stafford.net
17-Mar-2019, 15:04