PDA

View Full Version : New to the Forum Not new to LF, but never was a master.

oakranch
4-Mar-2019, 13:07
I'm homing in on my retirement from teaching high-school American history and have decided to pick up LF photography again as well as venture into wet-plate and alt. printing--you know, something to keep me off the streets and out of the bars.
Last foray into the processes was two decades ago and back then I had a great deal to learn. Now days it's the learning that interests me. I'm no artist but the technical side of photography has always interested me, so maybe I can learn to make better art while enjoying the processes. Have a Crown Graphic 4x5, and am waiting for delivery of an Intrepid (new version) 8x10. Have a couple of ok lenses and am still collecting other gear. No news to anyone here, but the price of 8x10 holders seems pretty crazy right now. For the darkroom I have a Bessler 45mx condenser enlarger. Was thinking of making a cold light head using led--someone must have done that by now I figure. Would like to find the filter drawer and filters but I Also have a Bessler 45mcrx to play with. I have no real experience with vc paper so that should keep me busy for a while just to start. Of Course I have to build out the darkroom first--that's already begun. Austin is far to hot in the summer for civilized life so I will be taking my usual summer trip back out west: New Mex., Colorado, Utah, and Az. By then I will have the 8x10 and look forward learning my way around it. It seems most folks here are really helpful so I will thank you all in advance for your comments. I look forward to your input.
Thanks, Oakley

oakranch
4-Mar-2019, 13:16
Can't even get the title right: LF not " LG" at least they are next to each other on the keyboard. That's my excuse and I staying with it.
Could not figure out how to edit the title.

Oren Grad
4-Mar-2019, 14:03
Fixed, and welcome!

Tin Can
4-Mar-2019, 14:57
Welcome!