PDA

View Full Version : Currently available 4x5 B&W emulsions?

6x6TLL
15-Feb-2019, 22:45
LF newbie here, been shooting MF for a few decades, and used Agfa APX100 as my standard film (later Rollei Retro 100 while it was still repackaged APX100), with APX25 when I could find it and TX 400 when I needed something with higher sensitivity, contrast and grain (e.g. punch).

I really love the long range of midtones APX has, as well as the older style grain. Having tried T-Max and other tab grained films many times, they just never gave me the same feeling that APX did/does.

Anyway, I managed to source several hundred 120 rolls of APX a few years ago, so I'm set there.
When I bought my 4x5 camera, a member here was extremely generous and sent me not only some film holders but also a few boxes of APX100 in 4x5 (Thanks Leigh!). Since it isn't available anymore, I'd like to save it for when I'm more familiar with working in LF and have some really compelling subjects and lighting.

On to my question - what emulsions are available today for 4x5?
Looking at B&H, Kodak has the T-Max line and TXP.
Fuji Acros is no more (never tried it, but heard very positive things about it).
Ilford has FP4 and HP5+. As much as a respect Ilford and love what they've done for the film photography community, I've never gotten any decent results with any of their films, they just don't do it for me.
There's also Arista EDU Ultra 100, I've never heard of it, any comments or experience?
I've read a bunch of reviews of Rollei RPX25 hoping it was a clone of APX25, but it seems to be more of a repackaged high contrast aerial photography emulsion. Looking at online results seems to support that, with a few exceptions.
Foma Fomapan 100 is one I've heard of before, but never tried - opinions or experiences with it?
ADOX CMS 20 II appears to be a special high contrast emulsion needing a special developer.