PDA

View Full Version : New to LF photography

Randy Gay
12-Oct-2005, 10:41
I'm new to LF photography but I went and purchased a used Omega view 450 Toyo view 4x5 LF camera with a Rodenstock Sironar-N Copal f5.6 150mm Lens (T~500 shutter speed; f5.6~64). I am looking for some help on using it. I briefly used a 4x5 many years ago in a classroom setting but not since. I would really like to get started with a polaroid system for this but am not sure what I need to do at this point to get this set up. How interchangable are the parts for 4x5 systems? I am currently a Canon 35mm Dslr shooter so I need help. Also I do not have a shutter release for this, do I need to buy one specific to the lens or are these pretty interchangeable? Is this system a pretty decent one for a beginer?

Are there some good books that can me? I know I'm at a very basic level but I hope someone from this group would be willing to spend some time helping out.

Thanks,
Randy Gay

Nick Morris
12-Oct-2005, 10:59
Welcome Randy,
Steve Simmons, who often contributes to this forum, publishes View Camera magazine, which is available through book stores. He also wrote a good introductory guide to using Large Format film cameras. I forget the exact title, but it should be available through View Camera magazine, or your local bookstore. It explains just about everything you need to get started.

j.e.simmons
12-Oct-2005, 11:09
Look at the front page of this site and scroll down - there are links to a number of articles that will get you started. I have an Omega 4x5 - it should be similar to yours. It's what I started with - I'd think you will like it just fine. You'll get a lot of advice about lenses, but I'd shoot a lot with the one you have and get a sense of the camera and format before you decide whether you want something different - either longer or shorter.