PDA

View Full Version : Wista 45N

ManWithManyHobbies
24-Jan-2019, 15:29
New here,

I'm completely new to large format cameras. I still have all of my old Pentax 6x7 and 67 gear and lenses so I do shoot film now and then. Anyway I finally found a 4x5 and a few accessories locally. I ended up with a 45N in excellent condition and a Fujifilm SWD 90mm f/5.6 lens. I have an old Gitzo G1225 tripod and a older RSS ball head that I purchased years ago. I assume the Gitzo will work fine for now? My questions for now are;

1. What should I looking into purchasing to mount the 45N onto the Gitzo?

2. What do I look for film carrier wise for this particular camera? Dos and don'ts of purchasing?

-JW:

Paul Ron
24-Jan-2019, 16:39
ive got the same setup. the camera is a bit heavy but a beautiful machine. as you get to use it n read tye many how to posts here, you will discover its many features n abilities. dont be affraid to ask these old geezers questions. they may sound a bit grumpy, but they do have big hearts... n heads.

it goes on the tripod like any camera does, 1/4-20 screw mounted on the tripod head. im not sure what you are asking about.

that lens is fantastic. i love it for lanscapes. the coating is excelent. when i first got it, i tested her out. iv shot into the sun with no flare n even had the sun in some pictures that came out great. its very sharp.

film holders are regular 4x5. ive got plenty spares. if you need, pm me for details, i can sell a bunch of them for a very reasonable price.

where are you located?

ManWithManyHobbies
24-Jan-2019, 17:04
Here's a cell phone pic of my tripod ...

jmontague
24-Jan-2019, 17:25
I have used both a ball head and a pan/tilt head with my 4x5 and I prefer the pan/tilt. Being able to adjust one plane at a time is far easier - particularly for large format. My $0.02.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ManWithManyHobbies
24-Jan-2019, 18:05