PDA

View Full Version : Advise & Recommendations on 4x5 cameras

cinetango
23-Jan-2019, 11:00
Hello,

I am contemplating purchasing a new 4x5 camera. I am a beginner in large format photography, I do have a Toyo 45D but looking into a press camera, Intrepid or Chroma.
The intrepid calls my attention because it can also be used as an enlarger. The Chroma looks a bit more solid. Then there is eBay with its array of press cameras. My budget is around U$D 500. What are your opinions and recommendations?

Thanks in advance,

Raul

Larry Gebhardt
23-Jan-2019, 11:15
If it were me I'd use the Toyo 45D and buy a 4x5 enlarger. What's wrong with the Toyo that one of the others would fix?

Daniel Casper Lohenstein
23-Jan-2019, 12:07
Hello Raul,

apparently Intrepids are delivered faster now. I ordered a 4x5 Mk III in December and yesterday they told me the camera was shipped. Amazing.

I don't know whether the new version is good or bad. I already know the 4x5 Mk II, and there are a few flaws they corrected now, apparently. That's the reason why I ordered the new version.

But there is another user here in the forum who said that he felt like a beta tester, which is frustrating. https://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?148295-Intrepid-8x10-experiences/page6 - I understand him: I have this feeling, too.

But I also had some £'s after selling my dickey Linhof Technika V - enough to pay that new camera and support those folks in Brighton (they merit every penny because they are working hard to produce these cameras), and perhaps enough to get a cheap carbon fiber tree to travel with, eg. a new Feisol CT-3442 or a second hand Gitzo.

Of course - when buying my second Intrepid 4x5 I realize that the 500 £ for the two cameras would have been enough to get a Rittreck View 5x7 (200$) and a Durst 138 Laborator (another 200 $ here) ...