PDA

View Full Version : Color Film for my Wista 45DX

Ed Vatza
21-Jan-2019, 09:24
Quick background. Probably 99% of my photography (both digital and film) is black & white. I am thinking about picking up some color film for my Wista but really don't know where to start. I have always heard a lot about Velvia but not sure that is where I should be starting. Besides my digital cameras are Fuji and I have played with Velvia presets and haven't been blown away. Anyway, I know film choices are personal and different strokes for different folks and all that but I would like to hear your experiences and possible recommendations. While I do an occasional portrait, I am not a portrait photographer. And while I am primarily a digital street photographer, I am using the LF camera more for landscapes/cityscapes/seascapes and the like.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ed

djdister
21-Jan-2019, 09:54
If you're just starting to shoot 4x5 color film, I suggest color neg instead of transparency so that leaves Kodak Ektar or Portra as your starting point. Both are readily available as well.

rdeloe
21-Jan-2019, 11:19
I don't shoot colour, but your question made me curious so I searched around a bit. Have you discovered this page yet? It's a thorough run down of various options in positive and negative for colour film. https://www.alexburkephoto.com/blog/2013/02/25/color-film-choices-for-landscapes Availability of any particular emulsion is a moving target these days, so before you get too excited check to see what's still sold.

Doremus Scudder
21-Jan-2019, 13:03
The first consideration when choosing a color film is how you are going to achieve a final result. Transparency film has about only one practical option: scan and make a digital print (or just admire the transparency, I guess). Color negative film has the second possibility of making traditional prints.