PDA

View Full Version : Wisner 4x5 question...

Robbie Bedell
16-Jan-2019, 14:37
I have a question about my Wisner Tech Field camera. I have been using this camera for many, many years, so I am not new to it. BUT my question is this. When I remove the lens board and look inside at the ground glass I can see toward the back the unfinished mahogany film holder and ground glass. What I see is that there is a wider 'strip' of the film holder mahogany on the right then on the left. It would seem to me that the wood would be the same on both sides. I know it makes no difference as one composes through the ground glass and that's what shows up on the film...but I have always wondered about it. When I insert a film holder it is framed evenly all around. If anyone out there is a Wisner user I am wondering if you might (when you get the chance) look inside your camera at some point and let me know what you see. Perhaps all 4x5 Winsers are like this and this is just my natural paranoia! Robbie

www.robbiebedell.photoshelter.com

pepeguitarra
16-Jan-2019, 14:51
Can you insert a lens board, remove the lens and shine a flash light to see what you get?

Robbie Bedell
16-Jan-2019, 14:58
Thank you. But it is much easier to see inside without the lens board. Don't really even need a flashlight. Just look inside at the ground glass and look at the surrounding wood..

RichardRitter
17-Jan-2019, 04:20
The unfinished wood is the ground glass frame and is not in the image area when the photo is taken.

The ground glass frame could be off center by the amount of clearance that was given at the time camera was made. If you look at the back of the camera you should notice that the ground glass holder can move from side to side a little.

All camera will show this, some have tighter tolerances on how the ground glass frame is held in the image frame by the springs.

Don't worry about it. Go make pictures.

Robbie Bedell
17-Jan-2019, 11:51